Faculty of Allied Health Sciences General Sir John Kotelawala Defence University (KDU)
Faculty of Allied Health Sciences 1

Welcome to the Faculty of Allied Health Sciences

Faculty of Allied Health Sciences (FAHS) was established in November 2012 as the seventh faculty of General Sir John Kotelawala Defence University (KDU) and was initially housed in the Faculty of Medicine building in Ratmalana. The faculty shifted to its newly constructed state of the art building at Werahera in November 2014.
The FAHS had its first intake of students admitted in January 2013 to its undergraduate courses in Nursing, Physiotherapy, Pharmacy, Medical Laboratory Sciences and Radiography. In addition to the majority of civil students, there are foreign students, military personnel and lateral entry students from the Ministry of Health. The students participate in uninterrupted academic learning while enjoying the personality development, welfare and recreational facilities available at Werahera and Ratmalana under the guidance, mentorship and coaching of the KDU staff.
The graduates passing out from the FAHS will be able to provide professional healthcare in a highly disciplined and friendly manner.


Sri Lanka, which is moving towards a sustainable economy out of a severe economic crisis, is currently in a challenging situation as the fastest aging country in South Asia. For this reason, due to the increased accountability of the health care system in Sri Lanka, the need for a qualified health care workforce has intensified due to the increase in health problems associated with the elderly. To meet this demand, CAPAGE project, a consortium of 4 EU and 6 Sri Lankan Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) has been formed with the shared goal of developing sustainable innovation capacity to modernize higher and professional HC education in Healthy Aging and Geriatrics (HA&G) in Sri Lanka.

nEUROcare-a European initiative for capacity building to meet the challenges of caring for people with neurodegenerative disorders in Sri Lanka

KDU has been successful in becoming a part of the four Sri-Lankan universities selected for the nEUROcare project granted by Erasmus. The University of Colombo, University of Peradeniya and University of Ruhuna are the three other selected universities. The four local universities are collaboratively working with Kristianstad University which is the main partner university in Sweden. Moreover, four other universities from Estonia, Slovenia, Norway and Cyprus will also take part in this program under the same grant. This program will expand new horizons for collaborative academia between the KDU and the other national/international universities in designing a Master’s Degree in neurodegenerative disorders. 

Capacity building in Higher Education – nEUROcare - 2nd Workshop in Sweden

The nEUROcare program aims at developing a Master’s Degree in neurodegenerative disorders which will be delivered by the four partner universities in Sri Lanka in collaboration with European universities. This will expand new horizons for the health care professionals in Sri Lanka to pursue their higher education.

Department of Nursing & Midwifery

Department of Physiotherapy & Occupational Therapy

Department of Radiography & Radiotherapy

Department of Medical Laboratory Sciences

Department of Pharmacy

Department of Basic Sciences

Department of Multidisciplinary Sciences

Faculty News